What do CCR, RCR and OCR mean in Singapore property?

Orchard Road. Picture: iProperty

The Core Central Region (CCR)

This area comprises of 3 districts, 9, 10, 11 plus Downtown Core Planning Area and Sentosa. The CCR is considered as the heart of Singapore.

The CCR region encompasses Singapore’s main prime metropolitan area, largely constituted by the CBD district where major commercial buildings are. There are full amenities within reach, with high-end restaurants, shopping malls and hotels scattered throughout.

Besides land scarcity, being close to or within the city’s financial district is one of the key reasons why private residential or commercial property in this zone would be one of the most expensive properties in Singapore, and in the world.

Map of Central Region. Picture: URA

Areas that fall within the CCR are:

District Area
9 Cairnhill, Killiney, Leonie Hill, Orchard, Oxley
10 Balmoral, Bukit Timah, Grange Road, Holland, Orchard Boulevard, River Valley, Tanglin
11 Chancery, Dunearn Road, Newton
1 (considered part of The Downtown Core) Boat Quay, Chinatown, Havelock Road, Marina Square, Raffles Place, Suntec City
2 Anson Road, Chinatown, Neil Road, Raffles Place, Shenton Way, Tanjong Pagar
6 City Hall, High Street, North Bridge Road
Part of District 4 Sentosa

The Rest of Central Region (RCR)

This region is defined as the “non-core central region”. The RCR zone consists of the areas that sit within the central region, but exist outside of postal districts 9, 10, 11, Downtown Core Planning Area and Sentosa.

The RCR is known to house mid-tier value properties with high-quality condominiums and bungalows. Even the HDBs developments in this area hold a higher value when compared to their counterparts located in other regions.

Queensway, HDB. Picture: iProperty

See moreHume Park station on Downtown MRT line to open by 2025

Many of the private developments are smaller in size, with some units priced just slightly above units located in the Outside Central Region (OCR).

With the investment and growth in MRT lines, this region is becoming increasingly popular as a rental option for expats who are choosing homes in the RCR zone over the CCR zone due to the affordability and relative proximity to Singapore’s CBD.

Areas that fall within the RCR are:

District Area
3 Alexandra Road, Tiong Bahru, Queenstown
4 Keppel, Mount Faber, Telok Blangah
5 Buona Vista, Dover, Pasir Panjang, West Coast
7 Beach Road, Bencoolen Road, Bugis, Rochor
8 Little India, Farrer Park, Serangoon Road
12 Balestier, Moulmein, Novena, Toa Payoh
13 Potong Pasir, Macpherson
14 Eunos, Geylang, Kembangan, Paya Lebar
15 Katong, Marine Parade, Siglap, Tanjong Rhu
20 Ang Mo Kio, Bishan, Braddell Road, Thomson
21 (part) Upper Bukit Timah, Clementi, Ulu Pandan

See more: 2 upcoming freehold private condominium launches at Bartley

The Outside Central Region (OCR)

This region covers all other zones that are not already covered by the CCR or RCR. It is made up of 33 areas, namely districts 16-19 and 22-28. Note that some parts of district 21 (postal codes starting with 58 and 59) are in the OCR and RCR based on this, so do verify a location’s district and region beforehand if you’re unsure.

This region houses the highest number of residential properties with higher concentrations of HDB than private property. The private residential developments here consist of mass market condominium, terraces, townhouses as well as Executive Condominiums (ECs).

Prices of the homes in these districts are lower to CCR and RCR. Despite being situated outside of the core districts, many are choosing homes in this region due to the extensive public transportation options that Singapore has.

Additionally, the government’s decentralisation plan has encouraged companies like banks and tech companies to set up offices in the regional centers, which further increases the attractiveness of homes in the OCR.

The OCR can be grouped into four planning sub-regions:

Sub-region District Area
East Planning Region 16, 17, 18 Bedok, Chai Chee, Changi, Loyang, Pasir Ris, Simei, Tampines
North East Planning Region 19, 26, 27, 28 Hougang, Punggol, Sengkang, Serangoon, Ang Mo Kio, Seletar
North Planning Region 24, 25, 27 Kranji, Lim Chu Kang, Sungei Gedong, Tengah, Admiralty, Woodlands, Admiralty, Sembawang, Yishun
West Planning Region 21 (part), 22, 23 Clementi, Upper Bukit Timah, Hume Avenue, Boon Lay, Jurong, Tuas, Bukit Batok, Choa Chu Kang, Hillview Avenue, Upper Bukit Timah

See more: Know which district you are in based on postal code